Google+ Shutting Down in April—Save Your Data!

author image Written by: Lia           Categories - In The News

Social Service Set to Close Following Low Usage, Data Breaches—Here’s How to Save Your Data

Late last year, Google finally announced what many have been suspecting for some time: Google+, the company’s attempt at launching a social media platform, is shutting down on April 2. Now, they’re offering users ways to save their data from the platform before it gets deleted. This closure comes after security flaws exposed 500,000 users’ data to third-party app developers in October of 2018. At that point, Google announced an August 2019 sunset date, but another flaw (found in December of 2018) in the Google+ API wound up leaving the data of nearly 52.5 million users vulnerable. Following that, Google sped up the timeline of the closure and deletion of Google+. Since February of this year, users haven’t been able to create new consumer Google+ accounts. Community, pages, and event post functions also no longer work. Google plans on gradually deleting all content from consumer Google+ pages following the April 2 closure. Positioned as an alternative to Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn, Google+ never quite took off the way other platforms did. Google’s latest post discussing the platform’s closure mentions low usage and “challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations” as reasons for the closure. Google also cautions that, following the service’s closure, some Google+ data may still be visible to G Suite users until consumer Google+ is fully deleted.

Saving Your Google+ Data

If you’re looking to save your Google+ data, now’s the time to do it. Google’s offering users a few options for saving some or all of their Google+ data. Their support page provides users with ways to download all or specific portions of their data from the platform. This is important if you’re looking to save photos, posts, communities, and events pages. You can even download Google+ data for an account that you’ve previously deleted. Users can download the following types of data: [su_list icon=”icon: chevron-right” icon_color=”#8b2219″]

  • Google+ stream (including posts, photos, events, and other content)
  • Google+ circles (including names, nicknames, display names, and profile URLs)
  • Communities pages (including names, URLs for Google+ profiles of community owners/moderators/members/banned members, links to shared posts, community metadata, and community images)
  • +1’d content on external sites (links to articles, blog posts, and other content +1’d by users)

[/su_list] Check out the support page for Google+ data downloads to get started.

author image

Lia

Google Announces Plans to Switch All Sites to Mobile-First Indexing

March 10, 2020

Around 30% of All Sites to be Affected by Mobile First Indexing Move Big news was recently announced by Google (no, not another core update). According to the search engine giant, by September 2020, all websites across the globe will be moved over to mobile-first indexing. This process was a long time coming, as it took Google

read more

Google Updates FAQ Rich Result Guidelines

March 6, 2020

No More FAQ markups For Repeated FAQs Says Google Repeating certain frequently asked questions and answers in various FAQ pages on one site is a pretty common practice. After all, sometimes, a question is relevant to more than one topic, and you want to make sure that it’s included across all your FAQ pages. But

read more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *